
NOTICE OF INTENT 
 

Department of Children and Family Services 
 

Economic Stability 
 

TANF Use of Benefits and Fines for Retailers 
 

(LAC 67:III.405) 
 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act R.S. 49:953(A), the Department of Children and 

Family Services (DCFS) proposes to amend LAC 67:III, Subpart 1 

General Administrative Procedures, Chapter 4 Electronics Benefits 

Issuance System, Section 405 Participation of Retailers. 

Pursuant to Louisiana’s Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families (TANF) Block Grant, amendment of Section 405 is necessary 

to prohibit retailers from accepting the electronic benefits 

transfer card for prohibited goods and services, to prohibit 

certain retailers from participation in the cash assistance 

electronic benefits transfer system, to subject noncompliant 

retailers to civil fines, and to establish procedures regarding 

notice of violation and appeal process. 

The department considers these amendments necessary to comply 

with Act 842 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. 

Title 67 

SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability 

Subpart 1. General Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 4. Electronics Benefits Issuance System 

§405. Participation of Retailers (Effective October 1, 1997) 

[Formerly §403] 

A. Retail establishments which are U.S. Department of 

Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), authorized food 

stamp Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program benefit 

redemption points must be allowed the opportunity to participate 
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in the state EBT system. FNS approved retailer may choose to 

accept EBT cards for cash transactions (FITAP and KCSP). All 

other retail establishments must be approved by the agency in 

order to participate in the cash access component of the system. 

Retailers approved by the agency to participate in cash access 

may be charged connection fees and/or monthly lease fees for 

electronic and telephone equipment lines necessary to establish 

connection to the EBT System. All other retail establishments 

may participate in the cash access component of the system 

unless prohibited by R.S. 46:231.14.B by contacting their 

commercial debit/credit processor to request to participate in 

cash access. Retailers participating in cash access will be 

charged standard commercial connection, lease, and/or 

transaction fees to interface with the EBT system. 

B. Retail establishments found guilty of abuse, misuse or 

fraud of the system by using the EBT "Louisiana Purchase" card 

in a manner or intent contrary to the purpose of the card, in 

providing benefits to eligible recipients, shall be permanently 

disqualified from participating as a cash redemption point and 

shall have all equipment provided by the vendor disconnected and 

removed from the establishment after due process. In accordance 

with R.S. 46:231.14, when a retailer or other business 

establishment is cited for violations of any provision of R.S. 

46:231.14.A or R.S. 46:231.14.B regarding prohibited retailers, 

goods and services, the department shall take administrative 

actions as follows: 

1. Fines. Any retailer or other business 

establishment that violates these regulations shall be subject 

to the following civil fines: 

a. $500 for the first violation. 

b. $1,000 for the second violation. 
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c. $2,500 for the third violation and each 

violation thereafter. 

2. Notice. When a fine is imposed under these 

regulations, the department shall notify the retailer or other 

business establishment by letter that a fine has been assessed 

due to violations cited at the establishment and the right to 

appeal. The notification may be sent by certified mail or hand 

delivered to the establishment. If the owner is not present at 

the establishment, delivery of the written reason(s) for such 

action may be made to any staff of the establishment. Notice to 

a staff shall constitute notice to the establishment of such 

action and the reasons therefore. The letter shall specify the 

dates and the violation cited for which the fine(s) shall be 

imposed. Fines are due within 30 calendar days from the date of 

receipt of the letter unless the retailer or other business 

establishment requests an appeal. 

3. Appeal Procedure for Fines. An appeal process is 

established by the department in the event the retailer 

disagrees with the civil fines. 

a. The retailer or business establishment shall 

have 15 calendar days from the receipt of the notice to appeal 

the decision to the DCFS Appeals Section. A request for appeal 

shall include a copy of the letter from the department that 

notes the reasons for assessment of the fine and the specific 

areas of the decision the appellant believes to be erroneous 

and/or the specific reasons the decision is believed to have 

been reached in error, and shall be mailed to Department of 

Children and Family Services, Appeals Section, P.O. Box 2944, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9118. 

b. The DCFS Appeals Section shall notify the 

Division of Administrative Law (DAL) of receipt of an appeal 

request. DAL shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the 
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Administrative Procedure Act within 30 days of the receipt 

thereof, and shall render a decision not later than 60 days from 

the date of the hearing. The appellant will be notified by 

letter from DAL of the decision, either affirming or reversing 

the department’s decision. 

c. If the retailer or business establishment 

filed a timely appeal and the department’s assessment of fines 

is affirmed by an administrative law judge of the DAL, the fine 

shall be due within 30 calendar days after mailing notice of the 

final ruling of the administrative law judge or, if a rehearing 

is requested, within 30 calendar days after the rehearing 

decision is rendered. The retailer or business establishment 

shall have the right to seek judicial review of any final ruling 

of the administrative law judge as provided in the 

Administrative Procedure Act. If the appeal is dismissed or 

withdrawn, the fines shall be due and payable within seven 

calendar days of the dismissal or withdrawal. If a judicial 

review is denied or dismissed, either in district court or by a 

court of appeal, the fines shall be due and payable within seven 

calendar days after the retailer or business establishment’s 

suspensive appeal rights have been exhausted. 

d. If the retailer or business establishment 

does not appeal within 15 calendar days of receipt of the 

department’s notice, the fine is due within 30 calendar days of 

receipt of the department’s notice of the fine and shall be 

mailed to Department of Children and Family Services, Fraud and 

Recovery Unit, P.O. Box 91147, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9147. If 

the retailer or business establishment files a timely appeal, 

the fines shall be due and payable on the date set forth in 

§405.B.3.c. If the retailer or business establishment withdraws 

the appeal, the fine is payable within seven calendar days of 
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the withdrawal or on the original date that the fine was due, 

whichever is later. 

4. Collection.  If the retailer or business 

establishment does not pay the fine within the specified 

timeframe, the department shall pursue civil court action to 

collect the fines, together with all costs of bringing such 

action, including travel expenses and reasonable attorney fees. 

Interest shall begin to accrue at the current judicial rate on 

the day following the date on which the fines become due and 

payable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:474. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:106 (January 1998), 

amended LR 33:1878 (September 2007), repromulgated LR 33:2204 

(October 2007), amended by the Department of Children and Family 

Services, Economic Stability Section, LR 40: 

Family Impact Statement 

1. What effect will this Rule have on the stability of the 

family?  This rule will have no effect on the family’s 

stability. 

2. What effect will this have on the authority and rights of 

persons regarding the education and supervision of their 

children?  This rule will have no effect on the authority and 

rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 

their children. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the 

family?  This rule will have no effect on the functioning of the 

family. 

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and family 

budget?  This rule will have no effect on family earnings or 

family budget. 
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5. What effect will this have on the behavior and personal 

responsibility of children?  This rule will have no effect on 

the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Is the family or local government able to perform the 

function as contained in this proposed Rule?  No, these 

functions are department functions. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

 The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 

Small Business Impact Statement 

 The proposed Rule will have no significant adverse impact 

on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility 

Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 

 The proposed rulemaking is not anticipated to have any 

impact on providers of services funded by the state as described 

in HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

 All interested persons may submit written comments through 

January 27, 2015, to Kim Glapion-Bertrand, Deputy Secretary of 

Programs, Department of Children and Family Services, P.O. Box 

94065, Baton Rouge, LA 70804. 

Public Hearing 

 A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 

January 27, 2015 at the Department of Children and Family 

Services, Iberville Building, 627 North Fourth Street, Seminar 

Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA beginning at 9 a.m. All interested 

persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, 

or arguments, orally or in writing, at said hearing. Individuals 

with disabilities who require special services should contact 

the Bureau of Appeals at least seven working days in advance of 

the hearing. For assistance, call 225-342-4120 (Voice and TDD).  

 

 Suzy Sonnier 
 Secretary 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
 
Person Preparing 
Statement: James Vidacovich Department: Children and Family Services 

Phone: (225) 342-0495 Office: Economic Stability 

Return Address: 627 N. 4th St., P.O. Box 94065 
Baton Rouge, LA  70804 Rule Title: TANF Use of Benefits and Fines 

for Retailers 

  Date Rule 
Takes Effect: April 1, 2015 

 
SUMMARY 

 
In accordance with Section 953 of Title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a fiscal 
and economic impact statement of the rule proposed for adoption, repeal or amendment.  The following summary 
statements, based on the attached worksheets, will be published in the Louisiana Register with the proposed 
agency rule. 
 
I. Estimated Implementation Costs (Savings) to State or Local Governmental Units (Summary) 

 
This rule proposes to amend Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC), Title 67, Part III, Subpart 1 General 
Administrative Procedures, Chapter 4 Electronics Benefits Issuance System, and Section 405 
Participation of Retailers. To comply with Act 842 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the proposed rule stipulates that the secretary of the Department of Children and Family 
Services (DCFS) has authority to amend Section 405—Participation of Retailers as follows:  (1) to 
prohibit retailers from accepting the electronic benefits transfer card for prohibited goods and services;  
(2) to prohibit certain retailers from participation in the cash assistance electronic benefits transfer system; 
(3) to subject noncompliant retailers to civil fines; and (4) to establish procedures regarding notice of 
violation and appeal process.  
 
The proposed rule will not affect the overall revenues or expenditures of the department. The only cost 
associated with this proposed rule is the cost of publishing rulemaking.  It is anticipated that $1,278 
(Federal) will be expended in SFY 14-15 for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

 
II. Estimated Effect on Revenue Collections of State or Local Governmental Units (Summary) 
 

Implementation of this proposed rule may result in increased revenue associated with civil fines imposed 
by DCFS on retailers or other business establishments that violate any provisions of this proposed rule.  
Civil fines are as follows: (1) $500 for the first violation; (2) $1,000 for the second violation; and (3) 
$2,500 for the third violation and each violation thereafter.  Monies generated from civil fines will be 
deposited into the Fraud Detection Fund and appropriated in future fiscal years for enhancement of fraud 
detection and recovery activities. DCFS cannot determine the number of retailers or business 
establishments that will be assessed civil fines. 

 
III. Estimated Costs and/or Economic Benefits to Directly Affected Persons or Non-Governmental 

Groups (Summary) 
 
There are no significant anticipated costs or benefits to recipients receiving cash assistance (Family 
Independence Temporary Assistance Program – FITAP and the Kinship Care Subsidy Program – KCSP) 
as a result of this rule.  Retailers or other business establishments participating in the state electronic 
benefits transfer (EBT) system will be responsible for the costs of disabling their Automated Teller 
Machine (ATM) and Point of Sale (POS) terminals so that FITAP and KCSP recipients may not access 
cash assistance within restricted establishments.  In addition, retailers or other business establishments 
will be responsible for the costs of preventing payment for prohibited goods and services at their POS 
terminals. 

 
IV. Estimated Impact on Competition and Employment (Summary) 

 
This proposed rule will not have an impact on competition and employment for low-income families. 

 
 
     
Signature of Agency Head 
or Designee 

 Date  LEGISLATIVE FISCAL OFFICER 
OR DESIGNEE 

 
Kim Glapion-Bertrand, Deputy Secretary of Programs   
Typed Name and Title of Agency Head  DATE OF SIGNATURE 
 
 
DCFS Undersecretary 
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